Inner South-East

Melbourne’s Inner South-east Metropolitan Region extends from Kew in Melbourne's inner east to Brighton on Port Phillip Bay. The area captures high density residential and retail precincts such as South Yarra as well as quieter residential streets through middle suburbs such as Balwyn, Bentleigh and Black Rock.

The Inner Metro Partnership is made up of the following Local Government Areas:

Following engagement with its community throughout 2017, the Inner South-east Partnership has developed its advice to the Victorian Government on the regional priorities for the Inner South-east Region.

The Inner South-east Partnership's advice for 2017 included:

  • Open Space & Environment: Promote healthy neighbourhoods by developing an increased network of active open space
  • Economy, Industry & Jobs: Encourage local employment hubs and flexible, co-working spaces in line with the 20-minute neighbourhood framework
  • Affordable & Social Housing: Create the right mix of private, public and social housing to anticipate the future needs of the growing community
  • Transport Connectivity: Improve connectivity of transport modes to cover sustainable, low-cost travel across the region (including north-south travel) and reduce car usage

You can find out more about the Inner South-east Partnership’s priorities here.